Zing! Thwack! Bull’s Eye!

Years ago, I tried my hand at target shooting with a bow and arrow.  I had tried archery several times at Bow_and_arrow
summer camp, and had little success.  However, this time I had a teacher who taught me the proper focus, stance and grip.

“Keep your focus entirely on the target,” he said.  “Don’t think of anything else. Breathe slowly and calm yourself.”

I mimicked his stance and tried to follow his instruction.

He explained that the bow should be brought into position and the string pulled back in one motion, and promised me that when I found the rhythm it would feel right and I’d know when to let go of the arrow.  My first few attempts sent arrows everywhere but the target, but finally I centered myself and slowly heeded my instructor’s patient words.  It was like a form of meditation, only with a weapon, I realized. I considered the bow an extension of my own arm, and in one smooth motion, drew it up to my chin, pulled back the string and released it.  It was a Zen moment; I will never forget the “zing” of the arrow and the “thwack!” as it pierced the bull’s eye.

In many ways, life is like shooting an arrow.

Most of the time we go through life taking aim at what we believe to be the right target, and give it our best shot.  Sometimes we hit it. Sometimes we miss.  We take our shot and move on, often not seeing where the arrow landed.  But every once in a while, we hit our mark. And if we’re really, really lucky, we get to hear about it.

collegeThe day after Christmas I received the following message from an old friend I recently reconnected with via Facebook.  I had not seen or heard from him since the early 70s.  I clearly remember our last encounter.  It was one of those times when I took careful aim, shot an arrow, and walked away, never seeing where it landed. I doubt that my message was delivered with tact or skill. I was a know-it-all-twenty-something who shot first and asked questions later.  But what I lacked in diplomacy was made up in honesty, for I truly did care about the recipient of the message.

“Garrie, wanted to let you know something. When I last saw you in college, you told me something that I took to heart. You told me that you cared about me and that I was throwing my life away. You were much younger than I but I valued the message and it helped me straighten around. Not long after that I stopped the heavy drinking, focused on what I wanted and ended up landing a professorship at BU. It was an important “lecture” and you delivered it from the heart. Never had a chance to let you know. Now I have. Merry, merry Christmas!”bigstockphoto_arrows_in_the_target_1393338_v_Variation_1

It is a rare and special moment when we get to see that we have positively impacted someone’s life.  It may have taken forty years, but on December 26, I heard the “zing” and then the “thwack!”

Bull’s eye!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Do you like this post? Have a comment to add? Please do!

