Look at it This Way

One of the lessons my mother taught me was to look at things from a positive perspective.  Whenever we were down in the mouth, she would begin with, “Look at it this way…” 

Me: “My car broke down and I had to walk a half mile to a phone.”

Mom: “Look at it this way.  You wouldn’t have taken the time to see what a beautiful day it is.”

Or, Me: “I lost my job.”

Mom: “Look at it this way.  Now you have time to finish that sewing project you are working on.”

You get the point.  It is with that attitude that I have begun to see the Hospice House where my mother is staying.  You can look at it as a place where people go to die.  Or you can recognize it as a place where people celebrate their last days on this earth.  I choose to see it as the latter. 

Tonight while visiting my mother at the Hospice House, I ask her if she is afraid.  Her shaking hand takes mine, and she nods her head.

“Sometimes,” she says.  “Last night everything was very dark, and I got very scared.  But Eric, the nurse who was on, came in.  He sat by my bed and held my hand. He goes to my church, you know, and I think he was praying for me.”

I have come to think of Eric and the other nurses and staff at the Hospice House as angels.  I have never seen them grumpy, have never heard them complain, or act unprofessionally.  They comb her hair and help her to the bathroom, and when they change her sheets, they coordinate the colors, so her room looks fresh and pretty.  They are kind and attentive and cheerful, and during this past week, they have come to know and appreciate my mother.  They tell me that they enjoy taking care of her and I love them for this.

While I sit next to my mother’s bed, my sister Teri sends me a text. “What is Mom’s favorite Christmas hymn?”  I know she is thinking of our upcoming meeting with a funeral director.

I ask Mom, and she thinks for awhile.  She can’t remember the name, and can only remember a few of the words, but she knows the melody.  She tries to hum it, but her voice is very weak, cracking and shaking, and I cannot follow it. 

“Hand me a pencil and paper,” she directs, and I obey.  She shakily draws a staff and begins sketching notes on it.  I desperately want to read it, but I have never mastered the art of reading music.  Then, I have an idea.  I pull out her laptop, the one she has told me will soon be mine, and I ask her to tell me the few words she knows.  A few moments on Google, and I triumphantly produce the lyrics.  Gesu Bambino.

“Mom!  I know this music!  I sang it in a pickup choir when Abby was a baby!” I tell her. 

I begin to sing it for her and she smiles and joins in.  She wavers, her voice barely above a whisper.  My voice cracks as tears roll down my cheeks and splash on the computer, and I can hardly hold the melody line.  We finish the song like a couple of old crows.  But to my ears, it is beautiful. 

I wish it were not this way.  I wish my mother could still sing in the golden voice that once held a spot in the alto section in her college choir.  I wish we were in our old house on Green Street, baking cookies and making plans to celebrate the birth of the Christ Child.  This is not my first choice.  But look at it this way:  for a few shining moments on a frozen December evening, I get to hold my mother’s soft hand and sing her favorite Christmas hymn. 

Oh, come let us adore Him.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Pat

     /  December 20, 2010

    Garrie, very touching indeed. Hopice is truly wonderful, I don’t know what my Mom & Dad and us kids would have done without them. It is hard now, but she will pass peacefully and we will all have another low flying angel to guide us. God Bless, Pat

    Like

    Reply

Do you like this post? Have a comment to add? Please do!

